2015-16 Calendar 


2015-2016 Literary Contest

Contest Opens
November 3, 2015 at 8:00 a.m.

Deadline for Student Submissions
January 21, 2016 at midnight
Submit a manuscript

Deadline for Teacher Approval
January 27, 2016 at midnight

Judging of Stories
January 29 - March 15, 2016

Student Winners Announced
Week of March 21, 2016

Workshops, Reception & Awards Ceremony:
April 19, 2016 at the North Carolina Museum of History
4:15 - 5:45 p.m.  Editors Workshop
6:00 - 6:45 p.m.  Reception
7:00 - 8:30 p.m.  Awards Ceremony


Literary Contest

Literary ContestThe Raleigh Fine Arts Society Literary Contest is a short story writing contest for Wake County high school students in grades 10, 11 and 12.  Manuscripts, with a maximum of 5,000 words, are submitted electronically through this website during the application call period. Entries have to be approved by the students’ English teachers, also through this website.

Each entry is read by two preliminary judges. Then finalists are chosen by a team of three final judges who each read all of the finalists’ stories.

All winners, their English teachers, parents and principals are invited to our Awards Ceremony. The ceremony is preceded by a Writers Workshop for the student winners, at which the final judges evaluate the award-winning manuscripts.

Click here to Submit a manuscript for the 2015-2016 Literary Contest.  

Click here for the Judges' Criteria by which the stories will be evaluated.

Click here to Contact the Literary Contest Chair.

Click here for information on Literary Contest winners from 2012-13, 2013-14 and 2014-15

Click here to view the 2016 Literary Contest Poster

Click here to view the 2016 Literary Contest Brochure

      The Raleigh Fine Arts Society, Inc.  |  P.O. Box 10614  |  Raleigh, NC 27605  
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software